Finding Rest…

I’ll be honest with you.  I have been on the go non-stop in the past few months and things are about to get crazier.  I’m tired.  I’m not getting enough sleep.  I’m always working, doing, and attacking my ‘to-do’ list.  I’m feeling overwhelmed.  I feel anxious at times.  I don’t think I’m stressed, but my body seem to think so.  And I just got sick.  I usually don’t get sick, but this time I did.  I think my immune system is weak (due to stress).  I read an article today called “9 ways you’re damaging your health and don’t realize it…” at All Women Stalk.  The two things that really stuck out to me the most were #2 – you don’t sleep enough and #4 – working overtime everyday.  And I know it’s true.

I mentioned that I got sick.  It was a strange occurrence this past Tuesday.  I had just finished my job caddying and as soon as I got into my car I just started to feel awful.  I mean, it was an immediate turn of events.  A wave of obnoxious ringing in my ears, a serious throbbing headache, congested sinus, and an overwhelming body pain.  It was STRANGE!  Especially from a person that rarely gets sick.  I had to sit for a moment and ask myself what the heck just happened?  I know that this time of the year my allergies act up causing running nose and itchy throat.  I just thought it just became a serious case of reaction (perhaps due to an immediate downpour of rain causing an adverse effect – but the next day proved it to be not).  I arrived home, ate, took a shower, and went to bed.  I couldn’t sleep that night.  The next day I jut felt congested and started coughing.  My congestion is improving now, but I’m just coughing non-stop!  My throat and chest is aching from all the coughing.  I”m drinking lots of water and as a result, making more frequent visits to the bathroom!  Sighs

I have always been a huge support of importance of sleep.  I always made sure I get enough hours of sleep every night.  But the last few months I haven’t really done that.  It’s really taking a toll on my body.

Psalm 46:10, “He says, ‘Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.‘”

I have many unknowns ahead of me.  I have many challenges ahead of me.  There will be changes.  It will be a new adventure.  Honestly, I’m excited and looking forward to it.  I always embrace new challenges the Lord brings in my life.  It seems to me, though, that recently I’ve been worried and anxious more frequently.  I am constantly in need to remind myself that I can do things I can control at the moment; but with things I cannot control, let God take care of it until the time comes.  Just be still.  Just trust Him.  Know that God is indeed God.  I’ve been in constant prayer (more than my usual).  I still spend time in His presence (but less than my usual).

I struggle with being able to rest or take it easy on myself physically.  I’m the type of girl who is like an energizer bunny.  I’m always full of energy and finding plenty of things to do.  So, for me to tell myself to sit down and rest is not one easy task.  I’m actually proud of myself for resisting the urge to exercise today!  I knew I needed to rest.  

Spiritually, the Lord asks us to rest in His presence and know that He is God.  The more I rest in His presence, the more I feel secured and filled.  Physically, our bodies tells us when we need to rest and allow healing to occur.  The more I give myself physical rest, the more I feel healthy and refreshed.  God knows what He’s talking about!

I’d appreciate your prayers as I go through some big things in the next few weeks.  Let me know if you’d like anything I can pray for you.  Comment below or contact me via other sources.

Thanks & blessings!

Leave a Reply

