SMART Goals

Howdy everybody!  I am feeling like I’m on top of the world right now!  Pretty ironic since I am still fighting a cold flu I’ve been having since being struck by the initial massive headache and body ache this past Tuesday.  My congestion seems to be clearing up, but I still have the cough here and there.  NONETHELESS…I have awesome news!  I took my National Academy of Sports Medicine (NASM) personal training examination today.  And…  **drum rolls**  I PASSED!  I am now a NASM certified personal trainer!  It feels good to be able to accomplish a new goal!  It is my desire to start a business to provide online and in-person consulting/training in fitness, wellness, and nutrition goals.

I believe that each and every one of us is different in a very unique way.  I don’t think that there is a one-size fits all.  Some of us are tall.  Some are short.  We have different body shapes.  We have different tastes.  We have different goals, passions, and drives.  Sure, we may like similar things, but we are our own person, created to be unique.  Isn’t that amazing?  And quite honestly, I think that is what makes us so interesting.

It is my desire to help others achieve their fitness and wellness goals.  The main reason why I like the NASM’s approach to personal training is because of the systematic approach it uses to help individual achieve their goals.  Whatever level you want to achieve, you can do it!  Whether it’s getting back into shape.  Whether it’s increasing stabilization & balance.  Whether it’s increasing endurance.  Whether it’s increasing strength.  Whether it’s increasing muscle mass.  Whether it’s geared towards a certain sport.  Whatever it is…a safe, proper, and systematic approach (eliminating/reducing injuries) will help you get there!  There are many amazing things you can do in life, but without the proper approach it can be quite frustrating.  This is where I come in.  I wold LOVE to hear what your goals are and help you through the process.

It is also my desire to help others in nutrition goals such as educating healthy foods, meal planning/suggestions, and cooking.  Again, I’ve come to believe that not one way is the best way for all.  We need to listen to our bodies in order to keep ourselves healthy.  One person can tolerate pineapple, but another person may not.  That is just one example.  I admit, I have come a long ways in this train of thought.  I’ve always had the attitude that one way is the best way.  In all honesty, my nutrition journey has changed over time.  I’m constantly striving to listen to my body.  And I’m also striving to respect others in what they know is best for them.  Whatever it is, I’m a HUGE supporter of healthy plant-based foods to incorporate in our eating habits, daily!  And I want to support and help you in the process!

I’ve got my bachelor’s degree in Health and Fitness.  I’m NASM certified.  What’s next?  I have been thinking of getting a master’s degree in nutrition science & possibly sports management; also been thinking of a holistic health coach certificate.  I keep telling myself:  one step at a time!  I’m just so excited because I am actually loving what I’m doing right now!  So many goals I want to chase after!  What’s yours?

Whatever stage you are in your life, I believe setting goals is important.  Do you have fitness goals?  Do you have employment goals?  Do you have nutrition goals?  Do you have family goals?  And the list goes on…  Here’s something that can help you achieve your goals whether verbalizing or having them written down.  It’s helpful to clarify goals for yourselves.

SMART goals

Specific – a goal that is clearly defined in such a way that anyone can understand the intended outcome (stating what you want to accomplish – who, what, where, and why).

Measurable – a goal that is quantifiable (stating how you intend to meet that goal).

Attainable – a goal that has the right mix of being challenging, but not too extreme.

Realistic – a goal must represent an objective toward which an individual is both willing and able to work.

Timely – have a specific date of completion.

As simple as that.

Here’s a personal example when I had a goal in running the Boston marathon.  And keep in mind, this was my goal.  Not everyone is at the same level.  “My goal is to run a 3:35 Boston Marathon time.  I have one year to reach that goal.  I plan on mixing up running and other forms of cardiovascular exercises 4 to 6 times a week in the first 6 months to keep my endurance phase.  Then I plan on running 4 to 5 days a week in the last 6 months, adding on long runs (and for this I will increase my mileage every two weeks to build up to a 22 mile long run peak).  In the last two weeks of my training, I will cut back on my mileage and focus back on my endurance phase.  I will also focus on eating a well balance meals containing the right amounts of protein, carbohydrates, and fats.  Then it’s Boston time!”  I actually wrote out a calendar on my mirror with specific training mileage days, so I can see what’s out in front of me and plan my schedule around that.  That was a huge motivation for me.  Of course, I had some set backs but I did not allow it to stop me from moving forward.

On a sweet note, I really would like to share a recipe that was whipped up a few days ago.  With the move coming up, I’m doing the best I can to clean up my pantry (for less food packing).  So far, so good.  And here is what I had remaining to whip up this delicious almond-buttery snack!

Almond Butter Balls

Almond Butter Balls

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/2 cup raw almonds

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup almond butter

3 tbsp coconut oil

2 tbsp agave

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp cinnamon

sea salt, just a pinch

DIRECTIONS:

1) In a food processor, grind up the almonds until flour-like consistency.  (Do not over-process it to a buttery consistency).  Pour into a medium-sized bowl.

2) In a food processor, grind up the oats until flour-like consistency.  Add into the bowl with the almond flour.

3)  Add the sea salt and cinnamon to the almond/oat flour.  Mix well.  Set aside.

4) In a separate small bowl, mix together the almond butter, coconut oil, agave, and vanilla extract until well combined.

5)  Add the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.  Mix until well incorporated.

6) Roll the mixture into small balls (no more than a quarter size in diameter).  Place the balls on a baking sheet.  Freeze for at least 30 minutes.

That’s it!  And you should have about 30-35 small bite sized balls to snack on!  These snack balls are so good!  I am not even kidding you.  I dare you to try it if you have a nut butter addiction.  This is it.  I am even thinking of adding a chocolate coating the next time I make them to make it even more fancy – and perhaps more like a peanut butter cup thing.

Well, that’s all for now!  I sure hope you enjoyed today’s post and celebrated with me today!  I’ve got another long and busy week ahead of me and I’ll need all the rest I can get tonight.  I’ve slept 10+ hours each night the last two nights.  It was great to finally be able to sleep without any interruptions or pain.  Have a fantastic week!  I hope you’ll try out the recipe I shared today and let me know what you think if you do!

You are unique.  You are YOU.  And don’t let anyone change you.

Blessings!!!

6 Comments

  1. I’m so glad you’re feeling well Heather! This recipe looks AWESOME- makes me wish I tolerated nut-heavy recipes more:) I can’t imagine what it took to run the Boston Marathon- what an admirable accomplishment!:) Hope you have a great day and so glad to see such a positive post!

    • Thanks! I’m glad I’m feeling much better too! I’m trying my best to keep everything in balance. And this recipe is awesome! Although, I do have to be careful how much I eat of this type of heavy nut kind of food. A little or in moderation does not upset my stomach. And Boston Marathon…running is a way for me to have time for myself…I love to run alone and in solitude. Next goal – triathlon! Have a fantastic day!

  2. Feel better soon, girl. You have an amazing goal and I’ll keep praying for you to reach it!! Nothing impossible w/ God. SMART reminds me to start writing my reality dream. I always talk about my passion but I never know where or when I can start. WALK the talk! LOL.

    Thank you for posting wheat/dairy free dessert recipe. I have been craving for sweets but I am trying to avoid a lot of dairy and wheat due to FMS diet. Sheesh. I’ve been buying expensive gluten free sweets. Even I tried to share ginger snap cookies with someone in elevator when I just bought and trying to open it. Haha. I got heart to share… I glad I have someone who love raw foods! I’ll try it this wkend. 😀

    • Thanks for the encouragement! I am feeling much better now 🙂

      I am glad I’m able to share this recipe. I’m sure you will love it!!! In fact, I had some this morning as a pre-workout energy snack 🙂 Yes! You can do whatever it is you want to do! Write it down. Make it visual. And believe!

      • Cool, do you usually work out in morning? Before breakfast? I went to sports camp in high school when I was in my young ages. Coach made us jogging before breakfast. It burns our calories and strength the tolerance. It was tough camp that I cried and ran away once. Lol…

      • My eating depends on when I work out and the kind of workout I do. I prefer to workout in the morning. If so, then I prefer to eat something light like fruits about 30-60 minutes before I run. But if I am doing heavier workouts for 60 minutes or more (like strength training or high intensity training), I notice I have more energy when I consume healthy amounts of carbohydrates (such as oatmeal) at least 60 minutes before my workout. But if I happen to workout in the afternoon, I like to eat a healthy balance meal about 2-4 hours before my workout (healthy amounts of carbohydrate & protein) – applies to both running and weight lifting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

