There is a time for everything…

Ecclesiastes 3:14-15

I know that everything God does will endure forever; nothing can be added to it and noting be taken from it. God does it so that men will revere him. Whatever is has already been, and what will be has been before; and God will call the past to account.”

Whenever I go through seasons in life, I am reminded of this chapter in Ecclesiastes (all of chapter 3). There is a time for everything. A time to be born, a time to die. A time to plant, a time to uproot. A time to weep, a time to laugh. And so on… Is it just me or does it feel like life is one big roller coaster ride? It can feel good. It can feel bad. It sure is quite an adventure and an adrenaline rush at times!

King David felt this way as well. Sometimes he felt close to God. Other times he felt far away from God. He was one of the greatest men of the Bible. He was brave. He was genuine. He was simply a man after God’s heart. Yet, he made so many mistakes! Despite of his shortcomings, God still loved him and adored his complete trust and worship. That, in itself, is simply amazing! And it gives me great confidence that God is right there beside me through my roller coaster ride of life.

God has given us a life to live here on earth. Some days feel so amazing; other days seem like a struggle. Some days it just seems like great things is happening; other days just seem so quiet. Some days you feel loved; other days you’re crying out to be loved. Some days you feel secure; other days you’re not so sure. You get the idea.

Your life is a story. New chapters are always being added. In your good times, enjoy it. In your low times, hang in there. In your middle times, keep on moving. Don’t ever give up. Keep on pressing. Keep going forward. And keep on believing. I see myself as a fighter. As an athlete, often times I compare my life to what it feels like going through training. That’s why I am constantly reminded of the part in the Bible where it speaks of running the race as to get the prize and the trainings required to get there (2 Corinthians 9:24-27).

*Ahem* – how do you think I came up with this blog title? 🙂

Life is a story. It’s your story. That’s the beautiful part of living. God entrusted us with this life. We’re all different. We’re all unique. We’re all different ‘characters’ coming together in one big story – His story. Isn’t that beautiful? Isn’t that awesome? Well, I think it is.

Psalm 30:11-12

You turned my wailing into dancing; you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy, that my heart may sing to you and not be silent. O Lord my God, I will give you thanks forever.

2 Comments

  1. And then Kohelet tells us the “the race is not always to the swift, not the battle to the strong, nor does food always come to the wise, wealth to the brilliant or success to the educated, for time and chance happen to us all. As fish are caught in a cruel net or birds are captured in a snare, so people are trapped by terrible times that fall unexpectedly upon them” Life is indeed a race but God has intentionally sown thorns and thistles in our pathway to keep us from becoming arrogant and self righteous. Kohelet will say to us “when times are good, be happy and when times are bad, consider that God has made one as well as the other so that people will never know what the future holds.” Often it is the ones who are in a good time who, instead of begin grateful, take their blessing as an indication of their personal holiness and look down at others who are trapped in a difficulty. Personally I have found that it has been those times of difficulty where I have been taught the most. Not always the most exciting but often the most rewarding.

    vance – artofwork.ca

    • Absolutely, yes…it is during the tough times that is the most rewarding. Though we may not like it, but it does keep us humble. I am often reminded of the apostle Paul’s thorn. Whatever his may be, we have our own “thorns.” The “thorns” I have, God has not removed, however, it is a reminder that I need Him even more and keeps me humble. During the good times, I will be glad. During the bad times, I will press on and stay close to Him. Thanks for sharing your insights.

Leave a Reply

