Snack Bar Reviews…

I sure hope you’re all having a fantastic weekend thus far! Today was a change of pace for me. It was nice to finally be able to go out! Lately, I’ve been swamped with work, packing, and organizing. Through all of this, I’m trying my best not to allow myself get stressed out 🙂 So, today, I attended to a baby shower that I was invited to. I was hesitant to go since I’m the only deaf out of the whole group and I tend to feel left out. Yet, I was determined to go! I wanted to get away from the golf course (especially the caddy shack full of guys). I wanted to get away from my apartment. And I wanted to be around with fun, easy-going people who doesn’t drive me crazy. It was fun today. Yes, I did feel a little bit left out and it was hard to follow along with what others were saying. Nonetheless, the food was great and the baby shower was amazing! The host, Aravis, did a fantastic job putting it together and cooking up finger foods from scratch! Check out her blog at The Twenty Something’s Very Useful Blog.

So, I have been meaning to share my ‘take’ on a few snack bars that I’ve tried out when I was in Austin, TX about a month ago. I wrote about the different kombucha tea brands a couple of weeks ago. You can check it out here.

I love snack bars. I like to try different kinds of all natural snack bars. Honestly, I don’t like any snack bars that has artificial ingredients in it. I think they taste awful or close to it. My most favorite bars that I tend to purchase (due to price and taste) is Larabar. Most snack bars can be quite pricey, in my opinion. But Larabars fits my mold. In fact, my mom tends to buy it at a store that actually sells regular discounts on it and mail them to me. It doesn’t last long when I get it! I’ve noticed the Larabar line up is expanding, which I am very excited about!

For the purpose of this review, a rating of 1-10 will be given. A #1 means my top favorite and a #10 means my least favorite. (Note – there wasn’t one that I did not like…I liked them all, just in a different degree).

The different bars that I’ve tried out recently…

Squarebar

IMG_0802

Cocoa Coconut

Ingredients:  all organic ingredients of coconut nectar, whole grain brown rice protein, dark chocolate, coconut oil, coconut, gluten-free oats, cocoa liquor, sunflower lecithin, sea salt.

I was actually at a National Academy of Sports Medicine workshop for my personal trainer exam prep at the time I ate this. I figured I’d be hungry at some point during the workshop. Sure enough, I did. I grabbed it out of my bag. Started munching it. Fireworks went off! I thought it was absolutely delicious. To me, it tasted like a candy bar. Good source of fats, carbohydrate, and protein. It’s soy-free. No refined sugars. Non GMO. Certified gluten-free. Vegan. My rating is #1. I’d definitely buy this again!!!

Zing Nutrition Bar

IMG_0786

Coconut Cashew Crisp

Ingredients:  rice protein concentrate, organic agave syrup, organic tapioca syrup, organic brown rice crisp, roasted cashew butter, unsweetened coconut, organic quinoa crisps, arabic gum, chicory root fiber, roasted cashews, organic almond butter, pea protein crisps, organic coconut flavor, safflower oil, sunflower lecithin, mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E), natural cream enhancer, sea salt.

This bar tasted pretty good. It was very nut-buttery. If you love the taste of nut butters, then this bar is for you. Like Squarebar, it’s got good source of fats, carbohydrates, and protein. Plus it’s got a higher fiber content than Squarebar. It’s gluten-free. Non GMO. Vegan. My rating is #3. I’d buy it again, but my mouth is still watery over the Squarebar.

Vega Vibrancy Bar

IMG_0803

Chocolate Decadence

Ingredients:  sprouted whole grain brown rice protein, inulin (from chicory root), dates, organic agave nectar, raw almonds, organic sprouted buckwheat, almond butter, chocolate chips, hemp seeds, cocoa powder, Vega SaviSeed (sacha inchi) oil, white chia seeds, brown rice crisps, natural chocolate flavor, sea salt.

I’ve had this brand before, but not this flavor. It was good. What I really like about it is that it’s made from superfood whole food ingredients. And it’s raw and sprouted. From a nutritional standpoint, it’s a good source of fats, carbohydrates, and protein. Plus, it’s chock-full of fiber. Very nutrient dense! It’s gluten-free. Non GMO. It’s got 1 gram of omega-3 fats. I would buy this bar again, but it’s expensive. My rating is #5. I’d buy it if I’m in the mood for a much healthier ingredient and higher source of fiber.

Larabar ALT

IMG_0823

Pumpkin Pie

Ingredients:  dates, pea protein, brown rice syrup, brown rice flour, dried pumpkin, sunflower oil, spice.

I’ve always LOVED the Larabar brand. It’s got simple ingredients. And I’ve noticed they’re expanding their product line and when I saw the ALT brand I was super-excited. Why? Because it has a good source of protein. I’m always looking for bars that has good sources of protein, carbohydrates, and fats (fiber is a boost, if I can find it). The regular larabars is lower in protein, but the ALT is higher. My rating is #4. Pumpkin spice was good, but I think I’d like another flavor. In terms of brand, I’d give it a #1.

That’s it!

So, that’s my take on the bars that I’ve tried out recently. Like kombucha tea, I’d like to start making my own bars and experiment different flavors. I’ll have to start doing that soon!

On another note… I know it’s not a snack bar, but have you ever seen the PB2 brand? It’s powdered peanut butter. Yeah, that’s right…powdered. It comes in two different flavors:  regular peanut butter or chocolate peanut butter. I’ve seen them in stores before, but I never bought it because I wanted to try a trial size. So, while I was in Austin, TX, I actually saw a trial size bag. That is the first time I bought it. Let me say that it was quite interesting. All you have to do is mix 2 tbsp of PB2 with 1 tbsp of water, until smooth. It actually turns into a peanut-buttery consistency. It does taste like peanut butter, but I don’t think it’s as smooth. Would I buy it again? Nah, not really. I’d go for the real stuff. The positive thing about it is that it’s lower in fat (about 85% of the fat and oils is removed during the pressing process) and it would be good to add to smoothies. The negative thing about it is that there is sugar added to it. Here’s what the individual size packet looks like…

IMG_0827

On a final note, it’s hard to believe time is getting so close to my move-out date! The upcoming week will be super busy for me! There is a PGA golf tournament happening at Congressional Country Club called Quicken Loans National, hosted by Tiger Woods. It starts this week. Prior to the tournament (begins on Thursday), there is a Pro/Am event, on Monday and Wednesday. I’m looking forward to it and curious to discover who I’ll be paired up with! In between, I’m finalizing my packing. I’m donating some of my furnitures, so Salvation Army will be picking up the stuff on Thursday. On Friday, everything will be packed and my apartment will be empty! It’s hard to say how I’m feeling right now. However, I am looking forward to a brand new chapter!

Be blessed!  See you next time!

Leave a Reply

